It’s remarkable that Shakespeare’s writing is still held in high esteem. Personally, I don’t know why, especially as it’s in an ancient form of the English language that is difficult to grasp. Still, it would be a spectacular success to have one’s work honoured so long after it was created.

The most important success of one’s writing, however, is if it lives on in the minds of the reader. I created a children’s television series in 1970, designed the characters and settings, wrote every episode and virtually directed most of them. I stopped after two years, but the series continued to air for about thirty years, from The Atlantic to The Pacific across Canada. Many children were able to see things that I hoped they’d see.

My daughter works backstage in movies and television. She told me of a time when she had a young assistant and she happened to mention that her father made the series, “The Waterville Gang”. The girl became excited, telling Robyn that she had learned all her life’s values from that show, when she was a child.

Perfect! That’s exactly what motivated me to create the show and work for a year, trying to get it produced. Finally, CTV accepted it. Now I know that there might be millions of people travelling through their lives, making decisions based on information they took in from my writings when they were children.

Their children will receive the same information, passed on from my words, to their parents, and then on to them. I’m satisfied.

